The Forgotten Bookshop in Paris - Daisy Wood

The Forgotten Bookshop in Paris

By Daisy Wood

  • Release Date: 2022-10-27
  • Genre: Historical Fiction
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 165 Ratings

Description

From an exciting new voice in WWII historical fiction comes a tale of love, loss and a betrayal that echoes through generations…

Paris, 1940: War is closing in on the city of love. With his wife forced into hiding, Jacques must stand by and watch as the Nazis take away everything he holds dear. Everything except his last beacon of hope: his beloved bookshop, La Page Cachée.

But when a young woman and her child knock on his door one night and beg for refuge, he knows his only option is to risk it all once more to save a life…

Modern day: Juliette and her husband have finally made it to France on the romantic getaway of her dreams – but as the days pass, all she discovers is quite how far they’ve grown apart. She’s craving a new adventure, so when she happens across a tiny, abandoned shop with a for-sale sign in the window, it feels fated.

And she’s about to learn that the forgotten bookshop hides a lot more than meets the eye…

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in war, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini.

Readers love The Forgotten Bookshop in Paris:

‘Oh my!!! This is one of those books you just can’t put down or stop thinking about. A must read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘One of my favourite reads of the year. The two timelines are seamlessly [woven] together… I loved it!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A truly wonderful read that you will not want to put down!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book had me mesmerised from beginning to end. Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A heck of a good story filled with hope, and heartbreaking at the same time. Brilliantly written!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Such a stunning read! Five stars.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A truly riveting read. If you love historical fiction, this one ticks all the boxes. Five out of five!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

Praise for Daisy Wood:

'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl

‘I couldn’t put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.’ Reviewer

‘Wonderful.’ Reviewer

‘Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended!’ Reviewer

Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars!’ Reviewer

‘Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.’ Reviewer

‘The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.’ Reviewer

‘Beautifully written… I highly recommend this treasure!’ Reviewer

About the author

Daisy Wood worked in publishing for some years before leaving to concentrate on her own writing. She has had several children’s books published, both historical and contemporary, and is happiest rooting about in the London Library on the pretext of research. She lives in south London and when not locked away in her study can be seen in various city parks, running after a rescue Pointer with a Basset Hound in tow. This is her second novel.

Reviews

  • The forgotten Bookstore

    5
    By kkquilt
    Well developed story line. Characters with lots of interesting personalities.
  • Wonderfully captivating book

    5
    By eugemac
    Beautifully written book that is hard to put down. Although one is quite familiar with the agonizing struggles of the Jews under German occupation this book puts you in touch with the suffering on a personal level. Parts of it are hard to read when the Ukrainians are experiencing similar circumstances as I read this book. I truly feel like I am cheating the author by paying 99 cents under this app. I am buying a hard copy and donating it to my local library. It is a wonderful book that will linger in my memory for ages.
  • Must read

    5
    By Jacky_Vil
    Beautiful story!
  • Very gripping story

    4
    By Oma 3
    Amazing! I becomes so wrapped up in the story and characters, I just couldn’t put it down. The story is a dual timeline, the story of Mathilde and Jacques set in Paris 1940 during the German occupation. A story of love and survival during a terrible time in history. Mathilde is passionate in her fight for freedom and Jacques is the quiet type running his little bookshop. But when Mathilde must escape Paris due to her involvement of the Resistance, Jacques stays behind. Slowly he gets involved with the Resistance and lives in constant fear of getting caught and if his beloved wife is still alive. The second timeline is in 2022 and Juliette story. Finding out during their vacation in Paris that her husband is cheating on her. She sends him packing and is drawn to a area in Paris that is the place of her grandmother favorite picture. The same cafe, the unusual lamppost. What is the story in this little part of Paris and there must be a reason it calls to Juliette. So she extends her stay and finds answers to her family past. Very moving story, have tissues ready. Not the ending I expected, but in real life probably happened more often then any of us could ever imagine. A definite must read! Thank you NetGalley for this eARC. I am voluntarily posting an honest review after reading an Advance Reader Copy of this story. #NetGalley #TheForgottenBookshopinParis #HarperCollinsPublishers